Book Sale! Save 20% on WordPress books with discount code: SAVE20
Web Dev + WordPress + Security

Disable Ask for Location Prompts in Google Chrome

Want to stop Google Chrome browser from constantly asking for permission to “know your location”? This mini tutorial shows how to do it quickly and easily, for Google Chrome versions (around) 83 and better.

Disable location prompts

Chrome users probably are familiar with popup dialogs that say:

somesite.com wants to know your location.

For example here is a screenshot of the location alert at Google.com:

Chrome location promptChrome asking for your permission to access your location

By default, Chrome will display these notifications for any website that requests the user’s location. In general the idea is great and useful, but not everyone likes to be bothered with it. So, to disable the location prompts, follow these steps:

Chrome site settingsVisit the Chrome settings and click on “Site Settings”
Chrome location settingsScroll down to Permissions and click “Location”
Chrome location setting disabledLastly, uncheck the Location option so it says “Blocked”

Done! With the Location setting disabled, Chrome will not ask you about your location when requested by websites.

Bonus: Disable ALL notifications

To go further and disable all notifications, go to Chrome settings ▸ Privacy and security ▸ Site Settings. Or just enter this URL in the browser address bar:

chrome://settings/content

From there, follow these steps:

Chrome notification settingsScroll down and click on “Notifications”
Chrome disable all notificationsDisable the option, “Sites can ask to send notifications”

Done! With that option disabled, Chrome will not display any notifications. So you can browse in peace :)

Jeff Starr
About the Author
Jeff Starr = Designer. Developer. Producer. Writer. Editor. Etc.
Banhammer: Protect your WordPress site against threats.

3 responses to “Disable Ask for Location Prompts in Google Chrome”

  1. This article is not clear enough.
    Does this setting

    – stop the notification
    – or is the access to location blocked

    Does it mean when I block the question for permission the websites access my location without interruption?

    • Jeff Starr

      That is a question for Chrome devs. But it would make sense that disabling the location setting does both: blocks access to location information and stops the notification.

      “Does it mean when I block the question for permission the websites access my location without interruption?”

      No, I’m pretty sure that the user must opt-in for any site or app to access location information. That’s sort of the whole point.

  2. I completely agree, it seems to me that if you can see the word “Blocked” it is NOT ACTUALLY blocked.

    Sliding the switch seems to say that it’ll ask you before allowing sites to know your loction.

Comments are closed for this post. Something to add? Let me know.
Welcome
Perishable Press is operated by Jeff Starr, a professional web developer and book author with two decades of experience. Here you will find posts about web development, WordPress, security, and more »
The Tao of WordPress: Master the art of WordPress.
Thoughts
When an app won’t hide, you can force it by holding the ⌥ (option) key and clicking anywhere on the desktop.
Currently having a blast redesigning Plugin Planet, so much work so little time.
Thanks to David McCan over at WebTNG for the awesome BBQ Pro review.
Enjoyed a nice mini-vacation with my fam. Great way to recharge and regroup.
Nice little interview with yours truly over at ThemeIsle. WordPress, web dev & more!
Perishable Press celebrating 16 years online! An incredible, rewarding journey.
Thanks to Nicholas Ferrell for his excellent and thorough review of Wutsearch search-engine launchpad.
Newsletter
Get news, updates, deals & tips via email.
Email kept private. Easy unsubscribe anytime.